There are two types of people in this world

Dylan and I have been living in Australia for just over a year now, and it has definitely taken an entire year to adjust.

Mostly, things in Australia are great.  We both have good paying jobs.  The city we live in is quite cheap – our rent is very reasonable, we have a great cheap veggie shop nearby, and we’ve both been biking to work most days.

But there is one thing in our life that is missing:  Mountains.  Big, beautiful, pointy, snow capped, glacier covered mountains.

(And, yes, we really do know how very spoiled we were with the incredible access to tramping in NZ.)

So I’ve realized that over the 9 years I lived in NZ, I definitely became a mountain person.  So what is a mountain person?  Someone who thinks a life without mountains isn’t really much of a life.

I’ve also come to realize that while I’m a mountain person, there are also beach people – people who can’t imagine not living near to a beach.  It is estimated that roughly 85% of Australia’s population lives within 50 km of the coast, so I guess we know which camp most Australians are in.  I thought that once we moved to Australia that I could switch from Mountain to Beach person (I envisaged myself learning to surf)…  But after our first summer here in the land of Oz, I quickly realized that would never happen.  1) I hate salt water, especially in my eyes.  I actually have to wear goggles in the ocean and I look like a complete nerd.  2) I hate waves.

That pretty much rules out surfing.  I can do a bit of body boarding, but I will never be a beach bum.  Dylan, on the other hand, can spend hours on end frolicking in the ocean.

So yes, I miss the ridiculously easy access to fantastic mountains that I had in NZ.  I knew I would.  But I didn’t know it would be quite this painful.

Are you a mountain person, or a beach person?

 

One thought on “There are two types of people in this world

  1. I love both, but I am definitely a mountain person – and am fortunate to live in NZ. I just wish I’d begun exploring them (on foot) years earlier. The good news is I am just getting started, and have so much to explore….

    Like

Leave a Reply

